Pella Chronicle

June 26, 2012

Farmers reminded of upcoming referendum to increase the Corn Checkoff

The Chronicle

Pella — The Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board today reminded farmers of the July 10th referendum to increase the corn checkoff by ¼ cent per bushel.  The checkoff is currently ¾ of a cent per bushel and would increase to 1 cent per bushel if the increase is approved.

Any producer who raised and marketed at least 250 bushels of corn from September 1, 2010 to August 31, 2011 is eligible to vote at any county extension office in the crop reporting district where they live from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, July 10.

Growers who wish to vote by absentee ballot may do so by contacting the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship.  Producers may call 515-281-5321, email or visit the Henry Wallace Building, 502 E 9th St., Des Moines, IA 50319 to solicit an Absentee Ballot Request Form. Absentee Ballot Request Forms must be postmarked by June 27th.  Official absentee ballots must be postmarked by July 10, 2012.

The corn checkoff is collected on corn that enters commercial channels, but not on grain used on-farm.  Producers are able to request a refund of their checkoff contribution and that ability will not be affected by the vote.

The corn checkoff was last increased in 2008 to the current rate of ¾ cent per bushel.  The maximum corn checkoff allowed under Iowa codes is 1 cent per bushel.

The Iowa Corn Checkoff was established by producer referendum in 1977.  The Iowa Corn Promotion Board, made up of farmers elected by their peers, invests checkoff dollars for research, education, promotion, and market development.  For more information on how checkoff dollars are used contact the Iowa Corn Promotion Board at 515-225-9242 or find out more online at

In accordance with Chapter 185C of the Iowa Code, the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship is responsible for holding corn checkoff referendum votes.  All costs incurred by the Department will be reimbursed by the Iowa Corn Promotion Board.