Pella Chronicle


October 31, 2011

$360,000 available to repair conservation practices

Des Moines — Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey today announced that the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship has $360,000 available to help repair conservation practices damaged by storm events during the 2011 crop year.

The funding is available in sixty counties that were granted disaster designation by the United States Department of Agriculture.  The designation applies twenty seven Iowa counties that were affected by severe storms, excessive rain and flooding during the 2011 crop year; plus thirty-three contiguous counties are also covered by the designation. 

“Much of Iowa was impacted by severe weather this summer, and as a result damage to conservation practices was also widespread,” Northey said.  “I encourage farmers with practices that need repair to work with their local Soil and Water Conservation District office.  It’s important these practices are repaired so they continue keeping the soil on the farm and out of our lakes and rivers.”

The maximum cost share rate for repairing practices will be 75 percent.  The deadline to apply for the repair funding is December 30, 2011 and all repairs must be complete by June 30, 2012.

Eligible Soil and Water Conservation District offices will begin offering funding to repair conservation practices in these sixty counties immediately on a first come first serve basis.

The $360,000 is the funding still remaining from the $6.5 million the Department received in 2009 from the state bonding plan to support conservation efforts.

The 27 counties included in this declaration are: Clarke, Davis, Decatur, Fremont, Henry, Jefferson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Mahaska, Marshall, Mills, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, Polk, Tama, Taylor, Van Buren, Wapello, Washington, Wayne and Woodbury.

The additional 33 counties were named as contiguous disaster counties. Those counties are: Adams, Appanoose, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Buchanan, Cass, Cedar, Cherokee, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Delaware, Des Moines, Dubuque, Grundy, Hardin, Harrison, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Muscatine, Plymouth, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Story, Union and Warren.

Text Only
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide