Pella Chronicle

May 10, 2013

Pella Garden Club celebrates 51st Tulip Time Flower Show

The Chronicle

Pella —

Members of Pella Garden Club celebrated their 51st Tulip Time Flower Show May 2, 3 and 4, 2013.  Location of the show was in the Bicentennial Buildings at the Pella Historical Village.
Award winners for this year's show were: Sandy Heerema, who swept the show with awards in both Design and Horticulture Divisions. The awards were Table Artistry for best table and Petite Award for outstanding small design. She shared Sweepstakes for most ribbon points in Design. Horticulture awards were Award of Merit for best 3 of a kind of tulips and The Silver Anniversary Award for best collection not an award of Merit winner.
Janna Boyd won 5 major awards in Design including Sweepstakes for most ribbon points. The awards included Distinction for best dried design,  Designer's Choice for most creative design, Presidents Award for an outstanding design and Design Excellence for best of show.
Milly Van Dyke won the Queen's Award for second most ribbon points in the Design Division. (Milly was absent for the group photo
Edie Buwalda won the 75th Tulip Time award for a design showing tulips to their best advantage.
Bernice Van Gorp won the Historical Society Award for second most ribbon points in the Horticulture Division, Award of Merit for best single tulip and Tulip of the Year for best single tulip not an Award of Merit winner.
Marcia Aguilar won the Gardener's Award  for best group of 3 tulips, not an Award of Merit winner.
Charlie Zylstra won the Novice Award for best first design blue ribbon.  Sue Brandl won the Pella Garden Club award for an outstanding Dutch table design by a non member.
Delores Boerigter won the Tricolor Award for best fresh flower design, Florence Vander Meiden  won Horticulture Sweepstakes for most ribbon points and Pella Garden Club 25th Anniversary Award for outstanding expression of title in design.
Marlyn Rietveld Ebbers  won an Award of Merit for best collection of tulips and the Award of Horticulture Excellence for best of show in Horticulture.
Pella Garden Club has 23 active members with Susie Gharst as President, Edie Buwalda as Vice President, Eileen Hessing as Secretary and Sandy Winkel as Treasurer.
Through 51 years, Pella Garden Club has contributed  over $300,000 toward Beautification, Preservation and Restoration in the City of Pella supporting projects in Pella parks, Scholte Garden and the Pella Historical Village, as well the Pella Regional Hospital, Comfort House and Pella Schools landscaping.
Titles in the Flower Show were taken from experiences during the Club trip to the Netherlands in May 2012.  The show title is from the Floriade Flower Show in Holland: 'Mooi Wat Bloemen Duin'   Beautiful what flowers the translation.