Pella Chronicle

January 2, 2014

Agan to chair supervisors

By Steve Woodhouse
The Chronicle

Knoxville — Craig Agan was elected Chairman of the Marion County Board of Supervisors at Thursday morning's organizational meeting. 

Agan, whose seat will be up for election in November, has not served as chairman in any of the prior three years of his tenure on the board. Previous Chair, Jim Kingery nominated Agan for the position. Agan seconded the nomination himself and the motion passed unanimously. 

Supervisor Mark Raymie was nominated by Agan to serve as vice-chair. Kingery seconded this motion and it passed unanimously. 

The remainder of the agenda covered annual actions taken by the board for the new year. However, there were agenda items the board chose to postpone. 

Among them was the appointment of a County Weed Commissioner. This position has traditionally been filled by the Marion County Engineer, but Kingery suggested, with as time consuming as the position can be, that more discussion should take place to ensure that the appropriate person is chosen for these duties. 

The board also took no action regarding the appointment of sheriff's deputies and reserve peace officers. Sheriff Jason Sandholdt is still in the process of staffing the courthouse security positions and asked the board to consider waiting to make all appointments until all positions have been accounted for.

 A vote on these appointments is expected at the board's next regular meeting. Regular meetings will continue to be the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 9 a.m. 

The list of County holidays was approved as well. This list is similar to what has traditionally been in place, but for 2014, County employees will also have Dec. 26 as a paid holiday. The supervisors specified that this is only for 2014, as Christmas Day is on a Thursday. 

Other supervisors' notes: 

• Named the Marion County News, Knoxville Journal-Express and Pella Chronicle as official newspapers for Legal Notices.

• Approved a resolution authorizing maximum depository thresholds. 

• Approved a resolution authorizing the Marion County Engineer to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance thereof in accordance with plans and specifications therefore in connection with all Farm-to-Market construction projects in Marion County. 

• Named Steve Edwards as the official Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator. Edwards has held this position for years and will continue to receive a $2,000 stipend for it. 

• Named the Marion County Sheriff as the authorized administrator of the Marion County Law Enforcement Center. 

• Appointed County Engineer Tyler Christian as the designated county representative for federal Department of Transportation drug and alcohol testing. 

• Each supervisor has been assigned to various boards and commissions, outside of Marion County government, for the coming year. They are as follows:

-Agan: Red Rock Community Action, Heartland Resource Conservation and Development, Des Moines River Greenbelt Commission, Whitebreast Watershed Association, Pella Planning and Zoning Commission, South Central Iowa Solid Waste Agency, Pella Area Development Commission and Central Iowa Regional Housing Authority.

-Raymie: Capstone Center, Fifth Judicial District Advisory Boar, Heart of Iowa Regional Transit Agency (alternate), FEMA Advisory Board, Emergency Management Commission, Department of Justice-Courthouse Security Advisory Board, E-911 Board, South Central Iowa Solid Waste Agency (alternate), Marion County Courthouse Security Committee. 

-Kingery: Heart of Iowa Regional Transit Agency, Mental Health Institute Advisory Board, Area Aging Resources Board, Child Welfare Decategorization Program-Executive Board, Empowerment Board and Camp Creek Watershed Authority. 

• The next regular board of supervisors' meeting will be Tuesday, Jan. 14, at 9 a.m.