Pella Chronicle

August 26, 2013

Board meets prior to start of school

By Renee Van Roekel
The Chronicle

Pella —

The Pella Community School Board of Directors met on August 12 for their last regular meeting preceding the start of the school year. President Joan Corbin, Vice President Gregg Gustafson, and Directors Timothy Tripp, Katie Peterson, and Gary Coppock attended the meeting. Moving on with consent agenda, the Board addressed the following Personnel changes:


Beth Speltz: Madison Elementary Special Education Associate

Stephanie DeJong: Jefferson Intermediate Special education Associate

Jeremiah Landon- HS Vocal Music Associate

Kelli Raymond: High School Special Education Associate

Kristy DeJong: High School Special Education Associate

Cara Miedema: Madison Elementary Teachers Associate

Tiffany Rohe: High School Varsity Girls' Tennis Coach

New Hires

Desmond Armentrout: Orchestra Teacher/ Band Teacher Associate

Tina VanderMolen: Jefferson Intermediate Special Education Associate

Audra Hiebert: JV Fall Cheer Coach at High School

Amy Whitten: Madison Elementary 1:1 Preschool Special Education Associate

Erika Olson- Middle School Level 3 Special Education Associate

Kelly Carlson: Jefferson Intermediate Half-Time Level 3 Special Education Associate


Jawnica Kettler- Madison Elementary Teacher Associate

In new business, the Board worked to approve the bid for various types of heating and cooling upgrades at Jefferson. The bid for Cunningham, Inc of Oskaloosa was approved and set at $470,000. The Board also approved consortium purchase agreements with US Foods and Loffredo. The bread bid was also reviewed. One half of the bread for the 2013-2014 school year will come from Jaarsma Bakery , and the other half from Vander Ploeg Bakery.

A public hearing for an Old School House site has been set to August 26 at 4:30 PM, at the High School Media Center. This hearing will be for the conveyance of real estate.

Lowell Ernst, Curriculum Director, also attended the meeting for the review of Annual Yearly Progress.

The next regular meeting will be August 26 at 4:30 p.m., and also on September 23, at 4:30 p.m.