Ballots have been set for upcoming city elections in Pella on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

A total of four seats are open, including the mayor’s seat and three seats on the city council.

Mayor James Mueller will not be seeking re-election, with Donald DeWaard and current Ward 3 councilman Bruce Schiebout vying for the mayor’s seat. The elected candidate will serve a four-year term.

Two candidates are challenging At-Large incumbent city councilman Tony Bokhoven for his seat. Those running against Bokhoven At-Large are Liz Sporrer and Chris Meyers.

Three candidates are challenging incumbent city councilman Harold Van Stryland for his seat in Ward 2. Those challenging Van Stryland for the Ward 2 seat are Robin Pfalzgraf, Nicolle Picray and Calvin Bandstra.

David Hopkins and William Harkins will be running for the seat in Ward 4, as incumbent city councilman Larry Peterson will not be seeking re-election.

All elected candidates will serve a four-year term.

School Board elections will be held in addition to city elections on Nov. 5 with three, uncontested seats.

Current District 1 members Timothy Tripp and Annette Smith, along with District 2 member Gary Coppock, will be running to keep their seats. School Board elections will be included on the city election ballots.

Emily Hawk can be reached at or by calling the newsroom at 641-628-3882.

Recommended for you