Four Pella High School large group speech teams earned the highest possible honor at the Iowa High School Speech Association State Speech competition held at Cedar Rapids Washington High School on Feb. 8.

The following large group speech teams from PHS received All-State Nominations from the IHSSA:

Musical Theatre, “Nunsense”: Abbi Adrian, Emily Rozendaal, Hanna Kendall, Hannah Tschetter and Tierney Copeland.

Readers’ Theatre, “Appropriate Audience Behavior”: Ashley Uitermarkt, Cameron Johnson, Emily Rozendaal, Grace Emmert, Hanna Kendall, Ibby Schlerman, Joe Beukelman, John DeBruin, Liam Peffers, Sam Beukelman, Willa Kelpe, and Wyatt Kelpe.

Group Improv, “Mitchell”: Will Rasmussen, Titus Hopkins, Connor Folkers, John DeBruin and Travis Mitchell.

Musical Theatre, “Bikini Bottom Day” from Spongebob SquarePants the Musical: Colby VanGorp, Connor Gauley, Grayson Parisee, Maggie Leach, Mason Diaz Bandera, Meridith Rowe, Travis Mitchell and Will Rasmussen.

The 2020 Iowa High School All-State Speech Large Group Festival will be held at Iowa State University Saturday, Feb. 22. The Individual District Speech Festival will be held on Feb. 29.

Emily Hawk can be reached at or by calling the newsroom at 641-628-3882.

Recommended for you