American Legion Post 89 held their annual election of officers for the 2008-2009 year. Newly elected Commander is Ken Van Dusseldorp. He will replace retiring Commander Ed De Jong. Other officers elected include Don Roorda, First Vice-Commander, Al Naagetboren, Second Vice-Commander, Ted Zylstra, Finance officer, Assistant Finance Officer, Dorell Uitermarkt, Service officer, Ed Jong, Historian, Public Relations, Case Vande Ree, Bob De Ronda and Dick Van Zante. Also elected were Judge Advocate, Dwaine Meyer, Chaplain, Ernest De Jong, Assistant Chaplain, Willis Van Haaften, Sergeant-At-Arms, Paul Simons, Jr. and Gerrit Van Hal. Boards of Directors elected were Gerrit Van Hal, Logan Vander Leest, Harold Den Besten and Paul Simons, Jr.

Sixth District Commander, Jim Demarest, swore in the officers (right). Jim belongs to Ames Post #37.

Recommended for you