DES MOINES — Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation President Craig Hill and Vice-President Joe Heinrich honored 485 Iowa farm families with Century or Heritage Farm designations at the Iowa State Fair, including two farms in Marion County.

Daniel and Mary Lundgren, of Otley, and Michael Lee and Cathy Jo Veenstra, of Otley, received a Century Farm designation. The program celebrates farms that have been owned by the same families for 100 and 150 years, respectively.

The Century Farm program began in 1976 as part of the Nation’s Bicentennial Celebration. This year, 332 Century Farms and 153 Heritage Farms were recognized. To date, more than 20,060 Century Farms and 1,360 Heritage Farms have been recognized across the state of Iowa.

Recommended for you