Maddie Parks

Maddie Parks picked up first-team all-state honors in softball for the Dutch.

The Iowa Softball Coaches Association has released their all-state squads for the 2019 campaign.

Four Marion County girls were named first-team in their respective classes.

In 1A, Emilie Krpan, of Melcher-Dallas was voted to the first team. The M-D senior pitcher will continue to play ball at the collegiate level at Briar Cliff.

Krpan pitched the Saints to within a win of the state tournament.

Mackenzie McGriff in Class 2A was a first-team all-state pick. McGriff is a junior on the Pleasantville Trojan squad that finished second in league play and picked up 25 wins overall.

In 4A, all-state first-team selections were seniors Emery Neer of Knoxville and Maddie Parks of Pella High.

Neer had the fourth highest batting average in the state, hitting at a .600 clip. Knoxville was second in the South Central Conference. She is a slap hitter who will be headed to play college ball at Central College.

Neer was 30 of 33 in stolen bases.

Parks was the leader on the Pella High Lady Dutch squad. The pitcher was 11-15 overall in the rugged Little Hawkeye Conference. She carried a batting average of .505 to lead the way for the team offensively.

Parks was 24 of 27 in stolen bases.

More All Staters

Other all-staters in 2019 included M-D sophomore Haley Godfrey and Brooke Roby, a freshman from Twin Cedars, both named to the 1A second-team.

The 1A third-team all-state list consisted of Riley Enfield, a M-D sophomore and Grace Bailey, a Twin Cedars freshman.

The 1A honorable mention list had Ali Mockenhaupt of Twin Cedars listed.

The Pleasantville Trojans landed Josie Sowers and Abby DeJoode on the second-team all-state charts in 2A.

Pella Christian’s Chloe Morgan was a third-team all-state selection in 2A.

Perry Bell can be reached at or by calling the Knoxville newsroom at 641-842-2155.

Perry Bell can be reached at or by calling the Knoxville newsroom at 641-842-2155.

Recommended for you